Unfinished Profile of

Bangladesh Krsihi Bank

At a Glance

Year of establishment: --
Head office:  Krishi Bank Bhaban,83-85 Motijheel Commercial Area, Dhaka-1000, Bangladesh.
Contact number: 02-956 0021
No of branch: 949 branches (819 are rural and 130 are urban)
Managing Directors Md. Mukter Hussain
Chairman: Khondkar Ibrahim Khaled


Bangladesh Krishi Bank (BKB) was established in 1991 under the Bangladesh Krishi Bank order 1973 (President's Order No 27 of 1973). Its Head Office is located at Krishi Bank Bhaban,83-85 Motijheel Commercial Area, Dhaka-1000, Bangladesh.

The primary objective of BKB is to provide credit facilities to farmers for the development of agriculture and entrepreneurs engaged in development of agro-based and cottage industries. The bank is guided in accordance with the policies and principles of the government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh. .

BKB has an authorized capital of Tk. 3,500 million (Taka three thousand five hundred million) only and paid up capital of Tk. 3,500 Million (Taka Three thousand Five Hundred Million) only which is fully paid by the government.

The bank operates its function through 949 branches (except Rajshahi Division) of which 819 are rural and 130 are urban. It has 15 foreign exchange (authorized dealer) branches. In the field level, the bank has 8 divisional,21 chief regional and 30 regional offices  for close supervision of the branch activities.

For smooth operation, the bank has also 56 field level audit offices of which 5 at Divisional and 51 at Regional levels. In the head office, the bank has 4 divisions headed by General Managers and 28 departments including Local Principal Office and Training Institute headed by  Deputy General Managers.

The existing strength of bank's manpower is 9526 against the approved strength of 11968 as on 31 March, 2008.

The bank has a Board of Directors comprising of 11 members. The board is headed by a Chairman. The directors represent both public and private sectors and are appointed by the government. The Board Chairman is generally an experienced professional who has wide acceptability and rapport.

The Managing Director is the Chief Executive of the bank. He is appointed by the government. 

The bank has two posts of Deputy Managing Directors and are appointed by the government.  

Copyright®  2009